2020 UHS Hall of Fame

In 2016, in honor of UHS’ 40th Anniversary, UHSFAA partnered with UHS to celebrate and launch the UHS Hall of Fame. Now it is time to honor more individuals who made this award-winning public school into what it is today. 


Lois Blondeau (In Memoriam)
Carol Ditsch
Pat Mc Andrew (In Memoriam)
Sherry  Milo (In Memoriam)
Oscar Morales
Jack Nolan
Hank Pilote (In Memoriam)
Kristina Serkowski
Eileen Sherlock
Pat Yovonovitz



2016 UHS Hall of Fame

Watch the founders and early faculty of UHS/Special Projects share memories of the first years:

2016 Hall of Fame Inductees 

Plaques in their honor hang in the UHS administrative offices

Reginald Barr

– Inception to 1992 –

UHS Social Studies Department Chair

Instituted UHS Mock Elections and Seniors Debate

Coach for Championship Academic Decathlon

President, Arizona Board of Education

C. Diane Bishop

– Inception to 1986 –

UHS Mathematics Department Chair, AP Calculus

Arizona State Superintendent of Public Instruction

Phoenix Union School District Governing Board

Leo Croteau

– Inception to 1982 –

UHS English Department Chair, AP English

Role model to his students for his humanitarianism and community service

The Leo Croteau Award is given at graduation in his honor to recognize valedictory distinction.

J. McGee "Mac" Evans

– 1976 to 1980 –

First Director of Special Projects

Developed the initial curricular instructional culture for Special Projects

Hired the original faculty and admitted the first students

Aleida "Madame" Gehrels

– Inception to 1997 –

AP French, AP German, AP Art History

Early developer of College Board’s AP Art History exam

Staff advisor to numerous student clubs including Hunger Action Group

Sally Higgins

– Inception to 1997 –

Lead Counselor at Special Projects and UHS

AP Coordinator – integrally involved in developing early AP curriculum

Developed the initial personal, direct counseling culture at UHS

Carolyn Kemmeries

– 1976, and 1986 to 1992 –

Director of Special Projects, First Principal of UHS

Presided over the create of the UHS School Council

Stewarded UHS accreditation as the nation’s first public college preparatory school

Served on the TUSD Governing Board

James Madden

– Inception to 2013 –

UHS Physics and Computer Science

Longest serving original faculty member

Multiple honors by the Flynn Foundation as Distinguished Educator

Recipient of Career & Technical Education grants funding for early educational labs

Allan Sandum

– Inception to 1995 –

UHS Science Department Chair, Honors and AP Biology

Staff advisor for Science Bowl and Science Olympiad

Robert Thomas

– Inception to 1992 –

Honors and AP Chemistry

Coach of UHS Championship Chess Team

Promoter and supporter of many student academic competitions

Tucson Education Association Representative for UHS